bilan’s travel wishlist // my top 5 (somewhat) atypical travel destinations

In listing these, I realized I am kind of obsessed with places that have colorful buildings and UNESCO World Heritage sites. Nevertheless, here is the moment you’ve all been waiting for! Check out this month’s edition of my travel wish list (in no particular order) featuring five of my favorite (somewhat) atypical destinations!

Willemstad, Curaçao

34339391915_17b0a80627_b.jpg

You may have heard of Willemstad or this may be the first time you are ever hearing of it.

Look. At. That. Photo. Willemstad is the capital of Curaçao, an island located in the Caribbean Sea and above Venezuela on the world map. A popular destination for Dutch (it is a constituent country in the Kingdom of the Netherlands) and other European travelers alike, this picturesque city has the beautiful beaches, the vibrant city center (which is a UNESCO World Heritage site) and more!

Valparaiso, Chile

Valparaiso. How do you sum up Valparaiso in a few short sentences? With its historic quarter named as a UNESCO World Heritage site back in 2003, Valparaiso is one of the most popular travel destinations in Chile. Northwest of the capital city, Santiago, Valparaiso is a undoubtedly a cultural center as offers amazing graffiti, cobbled streets and overall cool vibes!

Jaipur, India

After seeing a Groupon for a trip to India, I researched Jaipur and was fascinated with what I found. Also known as the Pink City of India, Jaipur is one of India’s major tourist destinations after Delhi and Agra. It’s observatory Jantar Mantar is a World Heritage site (notice a pattern?) According to Wikipedia, in the 2008 Conde Nast Traveller Readers Choice Survey, Jaipur was ranked the 7th best place to visit in Asia.

Jeju (Province) Island, South Korea

How did I learn about Jeju Island? I’ll admit it was through a Korean drama! Regardless of how I found out about Jeju Island, it is a major tourist destination for Koreans and people from other countries in East Asia. Caves, waterfalls, fishing, Jeju Island has a natural beauty unlike any other. It was chosen as one of the New 7 Wonders of Nature and is home to the World Heritage site Jeju Volcanic Island and Lava Tubes. What’s not to love about Jejudo?

Havana, Cuba (courtesy of my friend Megan, who is currently studying in Havana)

148792_10204917838965460_2148216498655795440_n

It may not be the biggest travel destination for Americans but that doesn’t mean that Havana is not on my list! I just haven’t figured out how to get there (for a decent price) yet haha. The capital of Cuba, the home of 2.1 million people and the birth place of Celia Cruz (side note: the link is the song I danced to when I was learning salsa YEARS ago), Havana is unlike any other city in the world. The historic city center is also a World Heritage site, (I didn’t plan this I promise haha) and as the third largest metropolitan center in the Caribbean, attracts over a million tourists a year! Havana is the center for art with an emphasis on both visual and performing arts. The city is home to a number of festivals throughout the year. Okay, okay, I admit. One of the reasons I want to go there is for the cars…don’t judge me haha.

(*Note: I do not own any of these photos and have linked each to their original site. Most facts courtesy of Wikipedia)

What places are on your travel wish list?

Leave a Reply

