bilan travels // the power of people (part i)

Over the last year, I’ve learned that the greatest resource is other people.

In something as simple as figuring out an address in a foreign country or something as grand as articulating your passion, speaking with other people can help a great deal. After all, there are approximately 7+ billion of them on this earth….

Part I: Finding Your Passion

Whether you attribute it to my New York City upbringing or not, I haven’t always been one to ask for help or step out of my comfort zone and open up to people about what it is that is really on my mind. In starting this blog, the hope was to break this thing holding me back and leverage this established community of travel lovers to pursue my passion. Whether you want to perfect your Spanish, get recommendations for your trip to Buenos Aires or pursue your passion of sharing the stories of a group of individuals in Eastern Africa through photography,

532179_10150919432838845_539442919_n

TALK TO PEOPLE. Sorry for the aggressive caps lock haha but I promise that the best way to go after your dream is to not be afraid to open up to people. They may have a connection or know of an opportunity that can change your life…you’ll never know until you try.

In business school and specifically marketing, we talk about the value proposition of a company. Although we aren’t each companies trying to differentiate ourselves on the basis of features, we all stand for something. Figure out what you stand for and what you are passionate about and talk to people.

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

 At this point in the article you are probably wondering what this has to do with travel and what authority I have to speak on this subject. A little over a year ago I thought my life’s mission was to work for FIFA and one day be the first female, African president of FIFA. I was in love with the idea of working in the football/soccer industry for the rest of my life. In digging deeper, I realized that my true interest in football lied in the way it brought people of different cultures together and its power to help the youth in impoverished communities. My true passion is international development and I’ve always loved travel and photography. Combine all these interests together and voila, Bilan Travels, my journey to understanding travel and tourism as a means of development in communities all over the world. So what I really want to emphasize is speaking with other people is an important step in going after your dream.* Although we may change our mind a million times in terms of what we want to do with our lives, people can help us to articulate what we want to do in any given moment. It is then our job to figure out how we want to pursue it.

Stay tuned for Part II which will be about the power of people when traveling!

*Of course always be safe and use common sense if you choose to engage with people you don’t know in real life or online. 

Leave a Reply

