bilan travels // costa rica chronicles: ‘ppreciation & perspective

I love photography. I especially love the fact that every photographer has his or her own style. His or her own perspective.

The other day, I “taught” one of the daughters of a staff member here photography basics. By “taught” I mean I told her where to look through, where to press, told her not to drop it, and sent her on her way. I felt like the less I prepared her, the more she would just have fun with it. I wanted her to explore and just snap away. Just a girl, not yet a woman, she was able to show me the world from her eyes. Seeing the world from her perspective, not to mention her height, was fascinating.

Over the past few months, my love for portrait photography has grown immensely. Candid shots can say so much about a person and their story. My favorite shot photograph is of beautiful Doña Isabel. Her genuine smile paired with the calm tone of her voice leaves you to feel as if everything, despite the Negative Nancy living inside of you, is going to be alright.

IMG_7806_3

Here are a few others that I particularly enjoy.

Working as a photographer here has made me more thankful than ever before. I know that Thanksgiving has already passed but looking at these photos, I can’t help but feel thankful. I am more aware and appreciative now than I ever have been of all the surrounds me. It’s a wonderful feeling. I am thankful for everything from the smallest of organic eggs to the greatest of landscapes.

I am thankful for all the new lives in my life. Baby cousins and nephews, calves and chicks. ¡Que lindooooos!

IMG_6906.jpg

I am thankful for the pauses. The moments to relax and just take it all in.IMG_7304.JPG

Also, the moments to take the bull by the horns and just go H.A.M.

IMG_7436

There is so much to be thankful for in this world and I can’t wait to discover it, moment by moment.

Paz y amor.

 

Leave a Reply

