bilan travels // my new york: central park & upper east

With only a few more months until the big move, I have made it my mission to explore as much of New York as I can. I know what you’re probably thinking…”Bilan, but aren’t you originally from New York?” Yes, yes I am. Sadly, I have to admit that I don’t know my city as well as I probably should.

Growing up, I stayed in the same few neighborhoods and never ventured out to explore new areas of the city. My days involved going to school, studying for school, or club meetings after school. Shoutout to everyone that has African parents…you know that life!  Haha, nevertheless, I am finally taking the time to do it and I want to bring you all along! First, let’s go to what has recently become my favorite spot when it isn’t allergy season, Central Park!

Central Park, the best place to:

  1. People watch (the only place where native New Yorkers and tourists coexist in harmony haha)
  2. Step your running game up (those hills that sneak up on you will make you question why you ever thought it was a good idea in the first place)
  3. Hang out with friends, for free (blanket, camera, sports equipment and snacks optional)
  4. Forget you are in New York for a moment and get away from the hustle and bustle (walk with me *Diddy voice*)

 

IMG_9112

My favorite museum is by far the Metropolitan Museum of Art (Met). If you’re looking for quirky, (slightly expensive) art and handmade crafts, look no further than the front of the museum as well.

IMG_9059

 

Leave a Reply

