bilan travels // around the world in 7 songs – summer edition

In between playing One Dance (and the rest of Drake’s album) on repeat, check out more feel-good tracks on my second edition of Around the World in 7 Songs!


Alaska – Maggie Rogers (USA)

Fun fact: I actually listen to this song every morning while I get ready. If you’re as much of a fan of Florence + the Machine as I am, you will probably like this. This song went viral a few weeks ago when Maggie Rogers presented it to Pharrell in his Masterclass. She has created her own genre of music, and I’m in love.

Aye – Davido (Nigeria)

This is song is far from being new but it is, hands-down, one of my favorite songs and videos of all time. If you don’t smile once while watching this, I don’t know what to tell you. Such a feel-good song for the summer (and all-year-round frankly).

La Bicicleta – Carlos Vives ft. Shakira (Colombia)

Who doesn’t love to go bike riding during the summer time? Hair blowing in the breeze, yeah we’re superstars. Bonus points to whoever knew that reference haha. Nevertheless, La Bicicleta (the Bicycle in English) is one of my favorites at the moment for the melody but also for the video! Major wanderlust will strike anyone who watches as the video shows beautiful shots of the Colombian landscape.

Hula Hoop – Omi (Jamaica)

You might know Omi from Cheerleader, but here is another tune that will be sure to get stuck in your head. This song  has been out for a while now but just like Aye, it will leave you smiling and dancing (especially the Soca remix of this song) unlike any other. Tropical house has easily become my new favorite genre over the past few months because who doesn’t want to feel the island vibes all year ’round.

Heaven – Alex Adair (England)

Heaven must have sent youuuu. Warning: If you listen to this song, it will be on your mind all day and you will find yourself singing it everywhere you go. Another song of the Tropical House genre, Heaven will instantly uplift your mood.

Jealous – Bakermat Remix – Labrinth (England)

His look is giving me Aloe Blacc vibes, but to be honest I prefer his voice. I have listened to this remix of Labrinth’s Jealous so many times and I still love it. The beat is ’70s inspired and I think it works really well with his smooth R&B/pop voice. This is my favorite track out of all of these songs for sure.

I Like That – Sistar (South Korea)

For those who don’t know, there was a period of my life where I was obsessed with Korean language and culture. Guys, like seriously obsessed. I wasn’t so much into K-pop as I was into Korean movies and shows. Every now and then I hear a K-pop song that I really like and of course I have to share it with all of you! It stood out to me because the beat is unlike any other.

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

